Well, this one has been a long time coming! It’s finally time to go over how to make a miniature infill plane. These are planes that I’ve designed myself – you won’t find planes like this anywhere else. They are not really a true infill plane – the sole is not metal. There are also no metal dovetails to worry about. They’re a little bit more complicated to make than they appear, but we’ll go over it step by step. If you’ve been able to master making just a plain old wooden handplane, this should be no problem for you.

MiniPlaneWEB2

I can honestly say that this is the most useful tool I own. It’s the one tool that I use every single day. I use it for trimming guitar and ukulele braces, for doing the neck plane on electrics with neck angles, for trimming kerfing….anything that you can think of. Any time when you would normally use a block plane, I reach for one of these instead – to me, a block plane feels large and cumbersome, and I no longer use them at all.

Over the next week or two, I’m going to make a new plane completely from scratch. I’ll post the progress here, and give you step by step instructions on how to make one of these planes. With any luck, by the end of the tutorial, everyone who has read this will be able to make their own Luthier’s plane with relative ease.

That’s all for the moment!

MiniPlaneWEB

~Anthony Murkar

