Tags

, , , , ,

Day 2 of the infill plane! This plane has a 30 degree bed, and the iron will have a 25 degree bevel (making the cut angle 55 degrees – a Mitre Smoother plane).

As a good start (and end) to the day, I sliced my hand open pretty bad with a chisel. Reminder to be careful in the shop! If you sharpen your chisels like razors, they cut like razors (go figure).

Today I got the infills sized and shaped. After the hand slicing I quit for the day – but not before getting the sides mounted to the sole. Tomorrow I will get fairly close to finishing this plane when I mount the infills permanently.

Not many pictures since my camera mysteriously stopped working – but here are some shots of the infill after shaping. Everything has to fit perfectly…..no room for error!!

07

08

