Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been toying with the idea of making a parlor guitar for a long time, but never got around to it. I figured it was about time to get on that…

I posted the rosette making a long time ago so I won’t post on it again – my rosette making process can be found in this post (click here).

I started with this rather large block of mahogany. When I got it, this was 12 feet long – I wasn’t sure exactly what it was until it was later identified by my buddy Jon as Sipo (it is not Sapele).

18

19

After cutting it was sent off to Exotic Woods to be sliced up into backs and sides; this whole block was perfectly quartered. The tree it came from must have been enormous. Next up – components. Ebony fretboard; some Khaya for the neck and tail blocks.

16

15

My rosette mold, plus the rosette itself being made in the mold.

22

41

I’m skipping some steps here because I’m a bit ahead (I didn’t take pictures the whole way along before deciding to add this to the blog) – here is the side bending process. I use a heating blanket to bend the sides (which I got from LMI); it’s a simple 6″ thick laminated plywood mold with springs to aid in side bending, modeled after the fox bender.

photo 1

After bending:

photo 5

In the mold; I added kerfing. I make my own kerfing – sorry, no pics. It’s easy to do – the cuts are made using a fret slotting saw (I use a radial arm saw with StewMac fret slotting blade, but you can also do this by hand). Also pictured is the cross-grain spruce used as the center seam brace for the back (pictured here resting on the back, which has already been joined).

03

04

That’s all for the moment…

